Modern Warfare1.0 – 20lt
IP: 84.251.82.159
Game Mode: Death Match
Lives: 0
Max Kills: 12
Version: OpenLieroX 0.58 rc5
Players:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mouse input fork?  (Read 6758 times)

Isaactoo

Mouse input fork?
« on: April 25, 2010, 02:34:36 am »
(I'm a newb to liero & worms-like games)

I've searched a little around the board and see that many don't like the idea of using the mouse for aiming in liero and wondered if a fork (maybe called lieroxMouse?) is/could be made.

I really like liero for it's terrain deformation/reformation and elaborate mods, but I find the controls quite difficult to get the hang of, and even if I don't think I could match the accuracy & quickness of the mouse. I realize that this would give an advantage to the mice players if it was implemented into Lierox, so that's why I wondered about a fork.

albert

Re: Mouse input fork?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2010, 02:58:20 am »
Yes, I actually thought of this already.

Making such radical change in how the input works really makes a somewhat different game out of it - that is why this couldn't really be called Liero anymore and of course it must be impossible to play on each other servers.

From the technical side of view, this is really simple and I would not really want to have it as a forked source base. It is not really a problem to use the same code base to maintain both games: OLX and this mouse-aim game.

Are you interested in working on this? I would be very happy to support you on this.

I imagine it roughly like that:

- A completely new name for the new thing. I'm not sure if "Liero" should be in that name. (This is actually hard to say. I think it would still be more close to Liero than to Soldat or other games but on the other side, the keyboard control was always a central element in all Liero clones.)
- A seperate SourceForge project for this new thing.